How to make Roku forget a Wi-Fi network

There are a number of reasons why you might want to remove, or make your Roku forget, a Wi-Fi network. That being said, there are also many reasons why this is not one of those things you should be stressed about.

Roku manages wireless networks in a very secure way for the average user. And, whether you’re using a Roku smart TV or a Roku streaming device, the connection options are always the same.

Can Roku forget a Wi-Fi network?

Every time you remove and connect your Roku streaming device, it will automatically reconnect to the previously used Wi-Fi network. But if turning it off can’t make you forget, is there an alternative option? Yes, but it is more of a last resort method.

You see, a Roku device can detect all nearby Wi-Fi networks, or at least the ones within range. This means that, just like your smartphone, to some extent, your Roku device can pick up a signal from your router, your neighbors’ router, and so on.

You cannot actively delete wireless networks from that list. But, it’s not like Roku is remembering them on a favorites list. If you leave your home and connect your Roku device to someone else’s TV, the player will detect other Wi-Fi networks within range.

A method of last resort

Because Roku doesn’t have an option that allows you to clear the cache, there are really no other ways to clear your personal preferences and account information to get you started with a clean slate other than doing a factory reset.

See also  How to Cancel the Subscription to Twitch Prime or Remove the Trial Period? - Delete Twitch Account (Example)

The good news is that performing a factory reset is a lot easier than you might think.

  1. Check the back or bottom of your Roku streaming device.
  2. Press and hold the button for 20 seconds or more.
  3. Wait until the device starts flashing and then release it.
  4. If there is no touch button, look for a hole.
  5. Get a paperclip, take out a loose end and use it to press the button.

Regardless of the type of button you find, you will always have to wait a minimum of 20 seconds for the device to fully reset. Once that happens and you restart your TV, you will have to reconfigure your Roku device again.

This means adding the account credentials again, establishing a new network connection, etc.

Wi-Fi networks that are not recorded

The Roku’s Hotel and Dorm Connect feature is very cool. This allows you to connect to a new external network, and was designed to accommodate students and people on vacation.

When you connect to a hotel network, for example, you will have to go through a new authentication process.

  1. Connect your Roku device to a new TV.
  2. Press the start button.
  3. Use the remote control to navigate to Settings.
  4. Choose network.
  5. Select Configure connection.
  6. Choose wireless.
  7. Select the first option: I am in a hotel or university residence.

Using the second option I’m at home will make your Roku device try to connect to your home Wi-Fi network. So why all the fuss? First of all, this can protect you from other people charging your data plan if you lose your Roku device or if someone steals it.

See also  How to Update Minecraft in Windows 10? - Step by step instructions

Plus, it helps people on Roku understand who is using their personal device, from where, and why. At the same time, this also ensures that you can enjoy Roku with all your personalized settings, even on a foreign device and on a foreign network.

Please note that access to a smartphone and tablet will also be required as this is a two-step authentication process. You should also have the Wi-Fi password for the local network on hand, otherwise this will be a useless process.

Now this is what is really cool. Once you are done using the hotel TV and continue, that network will not be saved in your device memory. Not when you check the networks from your home country, nor will the preferences be saved, you should visit that same hotel again.

Is there any reason you want your Roku to forget a Wi-Fi network?

It could be argued that looking at which networks have been accessed could help someone track their movements. Someone like a spouse, parent, or ex. But, due to how the Roku devices are configured, this cannot happen because there is no Wi-Fi network history to access.

So you can be sure that as long as you delete your browsing history, your guilty pleasures will remain yours. Have you ever done a factory reset to hide your network activity on Roku? Let us know in the comment section.

Leave a Comment